PDA

View Full Version : Do you sell the kits you make?

ponch
05-10-2014, 08:27 AM
Hey guys, just wondering if any of you sell the kits you make? Reason I ask, I've been putting up pics of my builds on Facebook and a few muso mates have shown a bit of interest. Up until now I didn't pay too much attention to it thinking of was just friends being nice, but just today I've had 4 people ask me for prices on the back of my lp in last months gotm.

Just wondering what you tell the customers about the guitars. I plan on saying that I source the body and.neck pre made but all hardware and electronics, finishes etc are customisable so it's a natter of their budget. Obviously I don't plan to price any guitar over the $1k mark that's built by somebody else.

I don't really have an issue selling kit guitars I've put together as long as they know what it is beforehand.

Which leads me to my next q. As a chef I refuse to buy in a product pre prepared and put it on my menu. It's definitely pride in my work but I don't see it as a bad thing. Same goes for guitars. I'd be more comfortable selling a guitar I've built from scratch. Even if I source necks, which I plan to do for now, and just build the bodies, at least I know I did it. I saw on gavs blog he did some dry runs on 45mm pine to get the hang of making a body. I'm planning to make the trip to the green house on my days off to pick up some pine to do a half dozen blanks. I've got a plunge router and that's about it. What router bits should I invest in? I'm planning on doing Tele style bodies for now caus they seem the easiest. Also, for templates, should I go plY or mdf and what thickness? Are there any other essential tools you suggest I pick up apart from wood, titebond, rasp, router bits, clamps, template material? I plan on getting wood that's already been surfaced and jointed, dressed or whatever it's called, but in reality, how dressed is it?