PDA

View Full Version : Adjustable temperature soldering iron/station

ultpanzi
21-08-2014, 11:22 PM
Anybody know where to get a cheap adjustable temperature soldering iron or station?? My old soldering iron had a meltdown on me. Thats what I get for using a Chinese power oriented iron with 240V for too long. I do a lot of electronics work, but Im a student and student pay over in sydney really sucks, so by cheap, ~$30 or less would be great. Any opinions would be great. THanks!!

Fretworn
22-08-2014, 02:06 AM
You get what you pay for. If money is an issue I'd be looking for second hand ones on eBay, you never know.

wokkaboy
22-08-2014, 02:44 AM
Eshays, I'd say a temperature controlled iron will cost much more than $30.
How many years did you get out of your old one ?
The way I look at it if you get 2 or 3 years out of a cheapish iron its still money well spent.
I scored 2 gas powered irons and they are the ducks nuts - no leads and they heat up quickly

ultpanzi
22-08-2014, 03:01 AM
Fretworn, I paid $50 HK dollars for my last one, so about $7 AU and it did well till it died after a year and a half, so sometimes you score cos Im hesitant to buy electrical tools second hand, cos theres always a reason why its second hand you know.
Wokka, Ive been interested in a gas powered iron, but then Id have to factor in the cost of gas into my budget, whereas the benefits of living with the parents covers the cost of electricity. Is a gas powered one worth it??

wokkaboy
22-08-2014, 03:37 AM
Hi Eshays,
I had a quick look on ebay and gas powered iron under $30 posted but no idea on the quality.
http://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_fromfsb=0&_nkw=gas+powered+soldering+iron&_sop=15

Of course buying the gas can refills are an extra cost and would go further if you kept turning the iron on and off which is a pain.
I'd probably recommend a cheap kit from the big green shed and if last a year or 2 its money well spent.