PDA

View Full Version : Watermelon

barrylicious
05-04-2014, 11:19 AM
For those interested here is the build process. Took a little longer then anticipated. Only have a few progress photos. Didn't know about the forum till just recently. Plz note I am an amateur . I take lots of pride in what I do . But I'm not perfect. I'm a baker by trade, not a luthier, or carpenter or spray painter. I quite possibly have a drinking problem and tend to ramble on a bit

Received a magical box filled with guitar peices. Checked there was enough bits to make a guitar, dry fitted the components , sniffed the wood for a while (I love the smell of fresh routed wood), repAcked the kit and
Hid it under the bed so the wife didn't see it. Apparently I allready had 'enough' guitars and there was no real need for me to get anymore because I don't use the ones I've allready got.
My reply: "so it's a bit like all those shoes you own then right?"

Guys. If you only learn one thing from my posts let it be this.. Don't EVER say what I said to your wives. It will not end well.

Decided on green. Because I didn't have a green one yet.

*** before applying colour I rubbed 2 coats of black dye into the wood, then heavily sanded with a 300 grit paper to remove all but a small trace of the black. This intensifies the grain patterns. Works on all woods. Especially well on maple.
Next I had some scotch.
Several days later I woke up and applied green dye to the body and neck and myself and my kitchen

http://www.pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/64mi0-image.jpg
http://www.pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/1c4xz-image.jpg
http://www.pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/33mk3-image.jpg

adam
05-04-2014, 11:26 AM
As a fellow whiskey aficionado I wholeheartedly applaud this build diary. I look forward to future updates.

gavinturner
05-04-2014, 11:28 AM