PDA

View Full Version : Tyro from Sydney

Mercury
19-02-2014, 04:15 AM
Hi All,

Been playing guitar and various other instruments for a number of years now and have quite a collection of instruments in our family, including pianos, trumpets, accordions, ukuleles, violins and a bass. I've never built anything from wood before, nor soldered or even really sanded. The benefits of a migrant child's upbringing. :| However doing something like this in the future with my eldest son would be an adventure to be sure. Now if only PitBull can get busy creating that Duo-Sonic kit, as suggested in the "New Kit Ideas" sub-forum, we can get cracking! ;)

Cheers,

Tony

wokkaboy
19-02-2014, 05:43 AM
Hi Tony, welcome to the forum,
if you have no building experience I'd suggest starting on a simple kit like a ST-1 or TL-1 will help you learn and be better at building a duo-sonic kit if they ever become available !

Brendan
19-02-2014, 12:34 PM
Tony - depending on you're son's age, may also be worthwhile looking at the 3/4 strats that are due soon. In terms of the skill level required, from memory, my Dad had a hammer and a screwdriver - not much and as such I had no experience with either before my first build - am now on my 3rd, 4th and 5th. Given limited skills though, it would be good to go with a TL / ST / PB / JB kit to start with - all require limited soldering skills and come with lots pre-wired.

Mercury
19-02-2014, 09:29 PM
/<\\/p>[/<\\/p>[]<\\/p>/]<\\/p>/Quote from wokkaboy on February 18, 2014, 14:43
Hi Tony, welcome to the forum,
if you have no building experience I'd suggest starting on a simple kit like a ST-1 or TL-1 will help you learn and be better at building a duo-sonic kit if they ever become available !

Hmm, a tele in vintage white might be nice... 8-)

Mercury
19-02-2014, 09:33 PM
/<\\/p>[/<\\/p>[/<\\/p>[]<\\/p>/]<\\/p>/]<\\/p>/Quote from Brendan on February 18, 2014, 21:34