PDA

View Full Version : Danos Flying V - FV - 1G

Dano
17-12-2013, 10:55 PM
Here goes.
So I've always kind of wanted a flying V but it's always been at the bottom of the list of guitars I would actually buy, so I decided that means it should be at the top of the list of guitars I'd like to build. This is my first build ever so it should be interesting and exciting.

My choice for the finish is a sunburst with Carmine Gypsy for the outer burst and burning sun for the inner burst. When I was choosing a look I used google image search and looked at tons of flying vs but I only just realised the other day when the kit turned up that the examples I was looking to emulate don't have a pickguard covering up the grain on the top and the control cavity is in the back. I saw a couple of other fv-1g build diaries where they've cut out the piece that goes between the pickups. I'm thinking of going a step further than that and cutting a modified version myself which only leaves a control cavity cover. You can see my roughly cut template for this in the pics.
I want to paint the top of the headstock a glossy black and cut an oversized truss rod cover which you see on the 67 reissue flying v. My plan is to leave the truss rod cover blank and then put on whatever faux branding I feel like with a white board marker or something, the idea being that I can change it to suit my mood when restringing it.
I'm going to use a pair of ESP pickups and possibly other electrical parts from an old les paul copy of mine that took a couple of dives off an ill fitting guitar stand. It's got a big crack at one of the joins on the neck which makes it a bit flexible. Those pickups were the best part of the guitar anyway.

http://i.imgur.com/ediF8B2.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/vN2O6pk.jpg

Day 1 to Day 15
Stared at all the parts and did nothing.

Day 16
Cut a pickguard template.

Day 17
Scratched the first template and did another one.

gavinturner
18-12-2013, 12:50 AM