PDA

View Full Version : Paddys TL-1TH Build

pshumack
02-12-2013, 05:50 AM
Hi everyone, this is my first build and I'll be building a Thinline Tele. The kit should (hopefully) arrive at my place any day now. I'm looking to paint it a solid black colour, with a silver-pearl sparkle to it. I'm looking to achieve this with black gloss paint, combined with silver sparkles. This will hopefully match the pearl pickguard. I'm also looking to paint a thin silver trim around the f-hole.

I've ordered a custom TV Jones Super'tron pickup with a chrome plating, and I'm on the search for some other silver/pearl hardware to really make this baby shine.

My current plan for setup is:

1. Shape the headstock
2. Sand, seal, paint, and clear coat the body
3. Lacquer and coat the neck and headstock
4. Wire and solder the electronics
5. Install hardware
6. Fit neck, make sure everything is properly set up and aligned
7. String, test, perfect!

Am I missing anything obvious?

jarrod
02-12-2013, 06:22 AM
Hey pshumack if ya look in build diary at my tele, on the last post you will get an idea at what black with sparkles looks like on a tele

stan
02-12-2013, 06:31 AM
Sounds like a great plan mate- and if it's half as good as jarrod's, it will be pretty good indeed.

DanMade
02-12-2013, 08:02 AM
Congrats on your first kit. Looks like you have a solid plan of attack.

One tip I can give you is to do a mock build to check the fit of the hardware before you start sanding and finishing. It's much easier to make any adjustments before it's painted. Though your TL should be pretty straight forward.

I like your idea of the silver outline around the f hole. That should look sweet

robin
02-12-2013, 08:21 AM
Hi Patrick, and welcome to the PBG Family.