PDA

View Full Version : Hello. I have some questions.?

String Breaker
29-11-2013, 07:39 AM
hi there, i am completely new to guitar building/constructing and have a few questions to ask before i get started. I bought the RC 1 kit and all my questions are concerning it. so here goes :

1. is there a specific type of soldering iron and solder material needed ?
2. other than wudtone, is there specific types of paints needed for wood ?
3. how do you apply the paints/resins e.c.t. once you are ready to and how would i apply drawings ir patterns ?

these are the only questions i have for now and it would be really awesome if they could get answered soon because i am really eager to get started on my guitar.
Also if a video for the RC 1 could be made i would really appreciate it :)

stan
29-11-2013, 07:57 AM
Welcome SB.
Really most jobs don't require too large a soldering iron. A medium sized one would be fine. Resin cored solder is the go and one of those third hand jiggers, a set of clips mounted on a heavy base to hold work being soldered, is very useful.

Wudtone is used a lot here because it is super easy to use and give a great result, preserving the natural sustain and tones from within the timber. However others have had very nice results with truoil, nitro cellulose finishes and straight out acrylic spray paint.

Wudtone is simply rubbed on and other finishes are rubbed, wiped or sprayed on depending on the manufacturers recommendations.

Plenty of experts here, read some of the build threads to see what they did .

I'll leave it someone else to be more specific especially with adding graphics.

All the best

String Breaker
29-11-2013, 08:08 AM
Thank a great deal stan i shall get onto is asap

Brendan
09-12-2013, 04:16 AM
SB - come in on this late, but as for a video, watch the general videos, you'll also need the set neck video, but ignore anything about PVA glue - use the PBG stuff or Titebond. As for wiring, there's a diagram here: