PDA

View Full Version : JM-1 Help

coriem76
11-11-2013, 12:54 AM
I'm a newbie building my first jm-1.
I'm struggling with an incorrect wiring diagram, however, don't believe it should be that difficult.
I have four wires ( Green, red, Orange and yellow ).I have the black but know what thats for.
The four wires I believe, tell me if I'm wrong, need to be soldered to the 5 way switch and I'm not sure what goes where.

Hoping someone can help me a trip to the music shop!

Cheers

WeirdBits
11-11-2013, 02:24 AM
This thread about JM-1 wiring (http://pitbullguitars.com/?page_id=42&mingleforumaction=viewtopic&t=4.1) may help. Hopefully, your layout looks something like this:

http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/1spkd-jm.jpg

It looks like you should have a black ground wire that connects to the tremolo/bridge to the back of a tone pot. Then, you should need to connect an output wire from the switch to the volume pot, and then separate wires from the switch to each tone pot. You should also connect a ground wire from the pickup grounds (negatives) at the switch (ground lug) to the common ground point on the back of the vol/tone pot. Although this diagram has a single coil bridge pickup and your switch position is different, the basic wiring layout should match what you need:

http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/836n5-StratImport2.jpg

Does that help?

coriem76
11-11-2013, 11:04 PM
Massive Help... Thanks

lawry
12-11-2013, 08:48 AM
Timing is everything. I am almost at the stage of wiring up my JM and now I don't need to go hunting. Thanks man!

cslessar
11-08-2014, 12:59 AM
Yeah really big help.