PDA

View Full Version : Producing a midnight purple wood grain finish

Nik
09-10-2013, 09:04 AM
Hi all. New to the forums and Pitbull. I've just ordered a jb4 which I plan to finish in dark tease for one of my sons. The next project will be a Jackson style flying v kit which I want to finish in a "midnight purple" colour similar to PMS 2597. There does not appear to be any really dark wudtone purples, so can anyone suggest an alternative product?

I work in IT in the print industry and have access to water and alcohol based Toyo inks, but I'm not sure how suitable these products would be for staining wood. The printers can mix up any PMS colour fom the base ink range, and armed with a colour code they can mix me up any colour I require (it'll more than likely cost me a slab for the favor though lol).

Any thoughts or advice on this approach?

What about water based aniline dyes?

Thanks in advance.

Nik

Brendan
09-10-2013, 09:37 AM
Welcome along Nik - JB4's are great and Dark Tease is a beautiful colour - check out a couple of people's diaries as I gather it's not the easiest colour to lay down. In terms of other stains / inks, no idea. Wudtone seems to be the biz here :).

DanMade
09-10-2013, 10:16 AM
Hi Nik. Welcome along.

DingoBass can probably mix you a custom darker purple Wudtone mix. I've seen a few of his custom brews used on some PBG kits that really look great.

Aniline dyes work great too. But you have put some type of clear coat over them. Also you want to use a dye that has a high U.V resistance, or the dye could be prone to fading.

DanMade
09-10-2013, 10:27 AM
I have been playing around with these acrylic artist ink/dye's with great effect. I just dilute with water to apply.
I purchased them from a local art supply store for about $10 each.

Wether these are the best option,I have no idea. But they have worked well for me.
http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/f71aj-image.jpg

Nik
09-10-2013, 10:05 PM