PDA

View Full Version : Multi-wire single coils

cornishintasmania
22-09-2013, 09:29 PM
Hi,

I have bought a TL1 and bought some additional pickups from GVS as they were on sale. The pickups have more wires that I was expecting though and the only wiring diagram I can see that relates is for a humbucker.

Each pup has:
- a red/white wrapped together wire
- a green wire
- a black wire
- a silver coated wire

I'm sure the answer is simple but this is my first time wiring a guitar and I can't find the answer anywhere. Any help gratefully received.

Thanks

Tim

Brendan
22-09-2013, 11:49 PM
Any details / photos on the pickup - it does sound like you've got a humbucker with 2 coils. Silver coated wire sounds like your ground. Other than that - it could be a North and South coil (they're magnetic and for humbucking one goes one way the other the other). Two wires would be from one coil, the other two from the other. If that's the case there are a range of humbucker diagrams around.

cornishintasmania
23-09-2013, 01:38 AM
It looks like the forum won't let me post a url - or perhaps the post is in moderation. Just in case...

The pups are Guitar Fetish "Neovin Noiseless Tele Pair" (can't post url with description and pictures). Definitely single coil, they look like normal Tele pickups.

It says that they come with instructions but the instructions for single coil say there are only two wires (black and white) and the humbucker instructions show the wires that these single coils have. Looking at the humbucker instructions, Green goes to positive and everything else goes to ground but that seems strange to me - and in any event is for a humbucker.

Thanks for your help.

Brendan
23-09-2013, 03:30 AM