PDA

View Full Version : Hi from SE QLD

Timsan
08-09-2013, 06:53 AM
Hi all

Hope you're all well. I'm a total greenhorn when it comes to building guitars, and I'm on the verge of ordering my first kit - a lefty LP-1SS.

I'm a drummer and bass player, and I've been chasing a decent affordable guitar that I can use for my own personal noodling and recording a few demo tracks with. I've been looking high and low for a decent lefty guitar that's affordable and isn't a Fender, Fender copy or a crappy low-end Ibanez, Schecter or LTD. I'd all but given up hope.

And then I found this site...

Kid in a toy shop and all that.

It's taken me bloody ages to decide which model I want to start on, but I settled on the LP-1SS because I like the Gibson look more than Fender, and the spalted maple looks pretty sweet.

I still don't know which finish I want it to be yet, but I have a few months yet to make that decision.

Any suggestions would be welcome, but regardless, it's nice to meet you all and gain inspiration from this forum.

Cheers! :)

pablopepper
08-09-2013, 07:28 AM
Welcome fellow Queenslander. Don't be afraid of asking for help. The only stupid question is the one that never gets asked!

WeirdBits
08-09-2013, 08:02 AM
Welcome Timsan, good choice with the LP-1SS it's a nice kit. Once you receive your kit the look and figure of the spalted cap will be your best guide in deciding which finish to use, as each one is unique with different levels of spalt and flame. The hardest part is always to not rush the build.

Good luck and may this kit be the first of many... even if they are lefties.

Timsan
08-09-2013, 08:33 AM
/<\\/p>[/<\\/p>[]<\\/p>/]<\\/p>/Quote from WeirdBits on September 7, 2013, 17:02
The hardest part is always to not rush the build.

That will be my potential Achilles' heel... I must be careful.