PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

kanelangmaid
02-09-2013, 10:26 AM
Greetings,

I have finally taken the plunge and purchased an ST-1M kit that hopefully arrives tomorrow. Why? I have been playing the guitar for a few years now and have always had a plan in buying a Fender Strat with maple neck. However without the required funds to purchase the Eric Clapton signature version, I thought I would begin the learning process of building my own. This is where Pitbull Guitars comes in. My starting point.
I have played around with wood before but never in the field of instruments. Thankfully this forum exists with all the helpful skilled people here + the references to other helpful sites.
Once I am satisfied I have the skills and some of the tools is to build the "blackie" copy. I aim to build and shape the body from alder, buy a neck (not willing to build one from scratch yet) and wire one up with vintage noiseless pickups and boost TBX extras.
Once I have built one or maybe a few, I was also thinking of building a nice fender copy amp to compliment the guitar.

Stay tuned.

Cheers.

Kane

Brendan
02-09-2013, 10:29 AM
Welcome along Kane - you're not alone in terms of not having any background in making instruments - many here have given our first a go over the past 12 months. I think I'm speaking for many in saying that once you've started though, it's hard to stop...

Gavin1393
02-09-2013, 11:08 AM
Not that hard to stop, you simply stop when you run out of money to buy another one....usually that's temporary though!
welcome to the forum!

Fretworn
02-09-2013, 11:13 AM
Welcome.

Tim
02-09-2013, 11:13 AM
Here here Welcome Kane to an awesome addiction

stan
02-09-2013, 11:34 AM
sounds like a cool project - welcome

kanelangmaid
02-09-2013, 11:07 PM
Thank you all for the warm welcome.

It is ok if it becomes a serious hobby. Have an order already from a good mate that wants an ESP explorer copy to his specs.