PDA

View Full Version : Nicks Tele

nickwilliams01
19-07-2013, 11:35 AM
So my Tl-1A finally arrived a few days ago. And while overall I am extremely happy with the quality of the wood and hardware, I do have a few (hopefully) minor concerns. It is first worth mentioning that I am a complete newbie with these kits and even working on and assembling guitars. We all have to start somewhere, but nevertheless apologies to all if I ask a million questions which might just seem like general knowledge to some of you out there.
Anyways, what I noticed when seeing if the neck fits into the body is that as far as I can see it appears that it is not a perfect fit. I understand that this is an issue that many here have faced, and even if it is a minor problem I still might need some advice :/ From what I can tell, because the pocket does not fit the neck, if the neck is placed in and lined up flush with the left hand side of the neck pocket so the neck lines up straight, there is a small gap between the bottom of the neck and the body. This can be seen in some of the attatched photos. Is this an issue? And if a solution was needed would sanding do the trick? As can also be seen in some of the photos, if the neck is pushed in as far as it can go a gap is left on the left hand side of the pocket and the neck doesn't appear to line up straight.
Finally, this may seem a silly question but the fingerboard overhangs the neck slightly. Does this just mean the base of the neck needs to be cut or sanded down so the fingerboard sits on the body of the guitar?
Thanks everyone and again sorry if these questions seem silly but you have to start somewhere!
http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/5ew49-1002315_515804395159843_1825218129_n.jpg
http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/5y1z0-1001180_515804355159847_1584365390_n.jpg
http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/lu5wr-971336_515804411826508_583891160_n.jpg

Gavin1393
19-07-2013, 11:55 AM