PDA

View Full Version : Greets

Rohan
07-07-2013, 12:53 AM
Hi Everyone,

I just wanted to check in and say hello.

A few weeks ago, I started checking online to see what was out there in terms of getting a beginner guitar as I had always wanted to play and it seemed like the right time.

After a lot of research, I came across an eBay auction for a guitar kit posted by a company called "Pit Bull Guitars". Interested, I came to this website and found the most amazing place that looks to have an amazing community and a vast amount of documentation and advice for builders.

I was immediately drawn in.

What I thought to myself was, if I am going to get a guitar, why not put in the hard yards and build it myself and end up with something (hopefully :P) way superior to a complete beginner guitar?

It wasn't a hard decision to make when you can see all the beautiful units that have been posted on this website, along with the obviously welcoming and helpful community.

Anyway, I didn't win that first auction..... but I did last night! Hooray! On my way is an ST-1 Kit - It does seem to be a good kit for a first effort.

I have no doubt that it will take some effort and a good amount of time to put this baby together. But hopefully you guys can help me out with advice if I get stuck. It's been a long time since I did woodwork back at school ;)

Time to start looking at all the equipment and consumables I will need to get this party started!

Cheers,
Rohan.

Fretworn
07-07-2013, 01:37 AM
Welcome Rohan!

robin
07-07-2013, 02:17 AM
Welcome aboard Rohan.

The ST-1 is a great choice for a first up build. I also chose it as my first. I have no workshop, very limited tools and even less ability, but she turned out a beauty. Just take your time and don't be embarrassed to ask questions. We were all where you are when we started.

rob

Brendan
07-07-2013, 05:24 AM