PDA

View Full Version : Tristans FV-1

tcjbrown
04-06-2013, 08:02 AM
The excitement is building.
The kit has arrived in flawless condition, no glue spots or problems. Thanks to uni holidays I'll get started on it tomorrow. That flamed maple will look stunning in carmine gypsy.
http://pitbullguitars.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/1n75z-image.jpg

Bass Guy
04-06-2013, 08:12 AM
Wow- that is a one gorgeous top there! Can't wait to see the progress!

Just make sure you don't knock over your bottle of Carmine Gypsy. Trust me, it looks like a crime scene if you do... :P

tcjbrown
04-06-2013, 08:20 AM
Yeah, that would be bad! I've just acquired a man cave with carpet, which would not look good red! :)

tcjbrown
04-06-2013, 08:44 AM
Also, when I get to sanding tomorrow can someone give me an idea of how much sanding is appropriate? I've never worked with a cap before and want to make sure I won't go through it.

dingobass
04-06-2013, 08:54 AM
With the Maple top, start with the 220 grit and go easy along the edges!
when you have got it looking nice and smooth, go in with 240 grit and sand it until it is really smooth.
Next, polish the binding with steel wool, this will make it easier to remove the Wudtone after each coat has dried.

But, before all this, do a mock up build and drill all your holes. This may save you some swearing when you do the final build! :)

adam
04-06-2013, 08:55 AM
I second that Wow! That is a really nice flame finish. I remember when Phil W and I opened the first one of these kits, we almost wept.

Oh, you shouldn't have asked how much sanding is required. Stand by for some posts you won't want to read...

tcjbrown
04-06-2013, 09:00 AM
Thanks guys, this kit looks like it will be amazing. I was already planning on drilling the hardware first as it's the part of the build I like the least. Already done a mock fit and everything's correctly drilled. I was especially worried about about the strung through tailpiece but the holes were dead on.

Bass Guy