PDA

View Full Version : Hi Folks, robin from Brisbane

robin
28-02-2013, 04:47 AM
Hey guys and Gals my name is Rob and I'm newbie here, so please be gentle.

I have been playing a guitar (note, singular) for a few years now and thought that as I am recently retired it was time to add at least one to the collection.

I will probably order the the SV-1 Kit as I like the pickup layout and FR bridge. Its different from the guitar I already have and, importantly, it is in my budget. But being an old guy AND a crap guitarist I feel a bit uncomfortable with the "handle". A bit too much of a "poser" for my taste and limited talent. ;)

What I would like to know from you more experienced guys and luthiers out there is:

1. Would it be possible to fill in the "handle", and more importantly how would I go about it. The guitar will be painted so a mis-match of wood will not be a problem but the "patch" must be permanent and not visible on the finished guitar....and

2. Would this modification affect the tone quality of the guitar.

The project will be a long term one so it doesn't matter how long it takes, I just want the finished guitar to be something I can be proud of.

Any help greatly appreciated. If I get the go ahead from the experts I will be ordering the kit ASAP, can't wait to get started.

Cheers
rob

MikeL
28-02-2013, 05:18 AM
Hi Rob,

I'm also in Brisbane (Wynnum) and am in the middle of an ST-1 build but have an SV-1 on order which should hopefully be in my hands early next month (left handed takes a little longer to get).

If I was filling in the handle I'd jigsaw it into a clean rectangle and get a piece of wood to fit that has the same kind of weight/density as basswood, then just wood glue and fill any gaps. If you don't hold back with the glue you might not need to fill at all and it will never come out.

But it has to be similar density or it may sand differently. If this problem does arise, use a filler primer to cover it.