PDA

View Full Version : What should I plug my Pitbull Guitar into ?

MikeL
19-12-2012, 08:35 AM
Hi guys, I can play flawless keyboard while staggering drunk and the odd song on acoustic but I'm a complete novice when it comes to electric guitars. I've done a lot of study and research while waiting the arrival of my SV-1 but one area I need some help is output...

I have a stereo 200w amp with twin 1.5m high speakers that I use for my synth and I would preferably like to use the same for my guitar. one of my coworkers who plays electric guitar said I should just get a pre-amp then. So I started Googling and next thing I'm looking at software such as Amp Farm and Amplitube... and then there's pedals and I'm starting to go into brain overload...

Can anyone suggest a nice inexpensive way I can get things happening and get sounds that won't make me cringe. This is an example of the kind of sound I would love to be putting out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkptcx7KO6Q

pablopepper
19-12-2012, 09:51 AM
Hi MikeL,

Have you checked out a Line 6 POD? The older kidney shaped ones can be found on eBay for surprisingly little money.

I have a hd300 that I have used direct into a pa and it sounds great. I have also plugged it into a regular home stereo as a ghetto jam amp and that worked a lot better than expected. Through my guitar amp though, I prefer to turn the amp modeling off and just use it as an effects board.

Overall I find the PODs pretty straight forward to use and you can get some top notch tones out of them. Check out some YouTube vids, it might be what you're after.

19-12-2012, 11:20 AM
Quote from MikeL on December 18, 2012, 17:35
Hi guys, I can play flawless keyboard while staggering drunk and the odd song on acoustic but I'm a complete novice when it comes to electric guitars. I've done a lot of study and research while waiting the arrival of my SV-1 but one area I need some help is output...