PDA

View Full Version : Introducing the Pit Bull Guitars "Team"

adam
23-11-2012, 08:04 AM
I thought this might be a good place to introduce the Pit Bull Guitars team, so you have a better idea of who you're dealing with if/when you choose to buy from, or interact with, our website.

First off, I use the term "team" loosely, because there are only two people involved; myself (Adam) and my business partner, Phil Watson. I handle the website, ordering and the boring business stuff and Phil handles distribution. FYI, Phil is also a cabinet maker, so his experience was invaluable when we got our very first kits.

Now, I'm not a Luthier, as anyone who has seen my attempts at painting and assembling our kits can attest. I'm just a guitarist and entrepreneur who saw a fantastic business opportunity and the possibility for a positive online community.

The genesis of Pit Bull Guitars actually came about when I purchased a kit from another Australian kit supplier. My experience with this company was actually quite positive (contrary to many other experiences I've heard about). I ordered a kit and it arrived within a week. It was what was in the box, however, that got my mind racing.

In short, apart from the kit, there was nothing in the box. No instructions, no hints, no tips, nothing. I was on my own. Their website was equally sparse on any information for the particular model kit (Jazzmaster) I had purchased. Where was the wiring diagram? How do I put in the pick ups? I had a lot of unanswered questions and there seemed to be no help from the supplier.

It was then I thought, "I could do a much better job at this". With that, Pit Bull Guitars was born.