PDA

View Full Version : Peavey kb100

Rossco381
04-04-2021, 02:49 PM
I think this is the right place for this...

I realise that this is made as a keyboard amp but a couple reviews I have looked at say good for bass and acoustic electrics. The best part is that my parents neighbour gave it to me and said if u don’t want it then throw it out because if u don’t take it then I will. One input is not working but everything else seems fine.

Does anyone have any experience with these? Is it worth cleaning up and getting everything going again? Cheers

McCreed
04-04-2021, 03:25 PM
Hey, a free amp is always a welcome item in my book.

A bad input could be as simple as resoldering. I think that will have closed jacks pcb mounted jacks, but I'm not an expert when it comes to amp repair. However there are a few members here that really know their stuff with these things!
Hopefully they'll come to the rescue...

One thing I can can tell you for certain, is that will have deadly electrolytic capacitors in it. Be sure to discharge them properly before you go poking around in there!

BTW, if you haven't got it already, I found this:

https://www.audioservicemanuals.com/p/peavey/peavey-kb/1335254-peavey-kb-100-12-89-schematic

fender3x
04-04-2021, 08:30 PM
It should be great for bass or acoustic electrics. KB amps have to handle all the highs to the lows on a keyboard which goes lower than a bass and as high as the highest notes on an acoustic guitar.

I agree with McCreed that there is probably deadly voltage inside in the big caps. Best not to open it if you can avoid it.

You could just not use the non-working channel. You still have two, so you might not even miss it. McCreed may be right that a solder connection may have come loose. Before opening it or taking it to a repair shop I would be inclined to try to clean up the jack a little with some contact cleaner on a Q-tip. It may not have an effect, but there is enough visible rust on the jacks to at least give it a shot....