PDA

View Full Version : Pick up positions

ThatCluelessGerman
04-06-2020, 04:18 PM
Hey guys,

I hope you can help me out. Please don't laugh but I have absolutely no knowledge about pickups. I have no preference, no experience and I don't know if I even ever used the switch on my guitars... .. if it makes sound, great. If I don't like the sound, I push and pull some knobs in the amp software until I'm happy.... So:

I ordered a (non PB) kit without any hardware (because the hardware from the store is just not what I prefer visually).

It is a LP style kit and it has 2 big holes for the pickups. That means I can use humbuckers and/or P90's, right?

So I ordered a cheapo humbucker and a cheapo P90, just because I never had any P90s before and why not and such.

But they will come "naked" with no frame and no specification which is for the neck and which is for the bridge.

I ASSUME that it doesn't really matter and it's just the frame that defines the position (one being higher than the other)? So if I decide to put the P90 in the neck position, I just use the "neck frame"?

Or is there any other criteria which defines where to put each pickup?

Another question:
I have a 3 way switch. That should work, right? Because I can either pick neck position, both positions or bridge position, no split. Right?

Sorry for my dumb questions, I have really no idea of guitar electronics.

Sonic Mountain
04-06-2020, 04:28 PM
There are no dumb questions. We all started somewhere and that's the whole point of this forum.

Ok, first off, yep 3 way switch is fine. If you want to go crazy with other switching options you can add push/pull volume and tone nobs. But its a good idea to keep it simple as you start out.

It's very hard to know if the routes will fit a P90. It's actually quite a different shape to a humbucker. You can get humbucker shaped P90's but I'm guessing that's not what you've ordered. It's possible you could enlarge the cavity. Not sure.