PDA

View Full Version : Headphones and valve / tube amps

Joe Garfield
29-04-2020, 09:42 AM
Hey guys and gals,

I want tube sound and dynamics but unfortunately will play mostly through headphones. It seems like most tube amps that have headphone outputs are actually using a solid state circuit, possibly with digital emulation. Does it make any sense to get a tube amp in that case? Are there any good options other than using software amp emulation?

Thanks,
JG

Bakersdozen
29-04-2020, 09:51 AM
I'm getting some great sounds and feel out my Line6 HX Stomp. I use mainly with headphones and it also acts as a fully fledged audio interface with my Mac. Can also be used direct into PA or FrFr speaker for an amp in the room feel. Has stacks more features which you can look into if something you think worth exploring.

jugglindan
29-04-2020, 10:29 AM
It's definitely not a tube amp, but I have been using a THR10C for 7 years. It's fantastic for low volume or headphones (I use mine with Audio Technica M50x's). The new THR-II has even more amp models (and 20W stereo output if needed).

As far as I can tell, the amp models are quite good. For example the one modeled after a Fender Deluxe Reverb has all the flubby bass of the original :)

Responds well to picking dynamics and guitar volume adjustments.

The USB provides an audio interface to computer.

No effects loop, but it takes pedals well.

McCreed
29-04-2020, 11:58 AM
Fortunately we are currently living in a golden age of musical instrument technology, so your options are practically limitless.

The bad news is, your options are practically limitless. :confused: :o

Your choices for tube amps with HP out are going to be limited, but solid state amp technology has come so far (even in the last 5 years) there is something for every budget and every player's needs. AND a lot of them sound great!