PDA

View Full Version : It's OK to f*** things up when you are a beginner

saetron
11-01-2020, 04:47 PM
Hello fellas, I am new to this.. And as you imagined I messed up the paint on my guitar, I wanted to do a green flake but the base colour dripped at a couple of places.. The question is do I sand the spots and redo them or do I sand the whole guitar and respray?

JimC
11-01-2020, 05:08 PM
Well, look at it this way, everything is practice. So why not try fixing it up, but if you aren't 100%satisfied with the results, cut the whole lot back. There's what sounds like (i haven't tried it) a very interesting technique described hereabouts for using water soluble filler around a run so you can sand more accurately.
There's another thing I'd add from experience with boatbuilding. People always feel they have to go right back to bare wood, but the paint manufacturers don't advise it in general. They suggest just sanding back to good paint.
So if you sand back give it no more sanding than you need to go flat.
Having said all that, it rarely does any harm to get an extra coat on, just don't sand back to excess. Is it much more work to do a whole coat than patch?

saetron
11-01-2020, 05:11 PM
Thanks a lot for the reply I will try not to haste things up this time and do it right.. I will do it from the beginning.

Simon Barden
11-01-2020, 05:14 PM
Hi and welcome. And yes, it's OK. Painful, but you do learn from the errors and we've all made them (and keep making them).

It's hard to tell what's best without seeing any photos. If its a solid colour with some runs, then wait a couple of days for the paint to harden before removing the drip and sanding down in those areas. Thicker paint takes longer to dry, so do wait or you can pull off more depth than you want when sanding.