Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: HB-4s Bass build

HB-4s Bass build

Hello everyone, I ordered a HB-4s and had it shipped to my deployed site over seas, talk about a guitar that's been around the world. Anyway I finally got the Bass and I had a question, what wood is the bridge made out of? I'm no botanist but im taking a stab at rosewood. If someone knows for sure I would really like to know. I was thinking about using an oil finish on the bridge and a water based polyurethane on the body. I forgot to take pics of me opening the kit but I'll upload what pics I did remember to take. Also this is my first time building a guitar, kit or otherwise.

Welcome Zanzeroth. The bridge is almost certainly not rosewood, as rosewood has been removed from all the kits due to the CITES restrictions that came in last year. The fingerboard sure are made out of a man-made composite, perhaps the bridge is made out of a piece of the wood that these fingerboards get created from.
    Current:
    GTH-1

Completed:
    AST-1FB
    First Act ME276 (resurrected curb-side find)
    ES-5V
    Scratchie lapsteel
    Custom ST-1 12 String
    JBA-4
    TL-1TB
    Scratch Lapsteel
    Meinl DIY Cajon
    Cigar Box lap steel

Wishing:
    Baritone
    Open D/Standard Double 6 twin neck

3. Liked by: zanzeroth

Quote Originally Posted by Fretworn View Post
    Welcome Zanzeroth. The bridge is almost certainly not rosewood, as rosewood has been removed from all the kits due to the CITES restrictions that came in last year. The fingerboard sure are made out of a man-made composite, perhaps the bridge is made out of a piece of the wood that these fingerboards get created from.
    I know its most likely not real rose wood. Its not as dark as the fret board though. Hmm just had a thought, maybe mahogany?

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk