Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Sanding+TruOil issues

Sanding+TruOil issues

Hello folks. I wanted to consult with you about some problems I am having with my first kit. I have sanded it with 320 and 600 for results that seemed "even enough" to me, other than some points where the grain exits the wood outwards and I couldn't really sand. I have never done this before and have probably made some mistake.

Here is an example:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	guitar1.jpg 
Views:	375 
Size:	438.1 KB 
ID:	25775

If it is hard to see, there are some spots, areas with scratches and matte look in relation to the rest of the body. This is after 4 coats of TruOil, whereas I waited 24 hours between the 1st and 2nd, and 12 hours between each additional coat.

Can this be fixed? Is it supposed to be like this? Can I sand at this point or will I have to redo the entire thing? Do more coats fix this?

Any tips will be appreciated.

Hi and welcome. I'm doing my first Tru-Oil guitar at the moment, but I know that you are going to be applying many more coats of Tru-Oil to get a really good finish. The first few coats are going to sink well in, especially if you haven't applied a sanding sealer first. So it''s going to look rough and patchy.

I'd wait a day to allow any more sinkage to occur and the TO to harden a bit more, then give it a sand down and then apply more TO. For a flat shiny finish, you are going to need lots of coats of Tru-Oil, as each coat is very thin. Many of those you will mainly sand off again if you want a flat glossy finish, as you will be using the first load of coats just as fillers for the grain, so that you end up with a flat surface.

The Tru-Oil coats after that then go to form the protective layer. Even then, you'll need to sand back flat before you can polish it up to a good shine.

3. Liked by: Peace_less

Hi peace, to me it looks like some glue still left on there and the scratches are in the end grain under the clear coating.