Thread: How hard is it to do the kits?

How hard is it to do the kits?

Hi folks. I'm a newb--been playing acoustic up til now, was thinking of getting an electric and this looks like a fun way to do it. I'm no luthier by any means, but OTOH I am an electronics geek and no stranger to a soldering iron in my hand.

So basically, anyone tackle one of these in a similar position? I thought it might be a nice, inexpensive way to get an electric while learning the thing inside & out, or am I just going to bite off more than I can chew? Thoughts?

Hi Justkelly and welcome!
    It depends on the choice of kit. The standard ST style kits are simple construction and it comes down to how complicated you want to go with your finishing. There’s not a lot of wood working to do, just some simple checks on alignment and some screw holes to mount the neck, the scratchplate and the bridge (depending on the style of kit you get).
    On some of the Telecaster style kits you may need to open out pickup routs or cavities.
    The set neck kits (ES styles, PRS styles etc) are a bit more of a challenge.

It all comes down to what you are comfortable tackling and what sort of facilities and tooling you have at your disposal.
    Some of the guys make do with basic hand tools and a couple of clamps, others have more extensive workshops set up to do stuff.
    There is a how to manual on the PBG website which gives you a rundown on tools and methodology.

It’s a great process, and a really satisfying one, so I’d recommend picking a simple kit and working through step by step. Start a build diary, post photos and questions and the forum can usually help out with any issues.

Above all enjoy the experience!
    FrankenLab
    Hand crafting guitars, because Death Rays are expensive.