Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Advice on Amp

Advice on Amp

Need to be pointed in the right direction if you guys can please, I'm looking for a small amp which will only ever get used in the house, I want one that will take pedals which I fancy experimenting with,

Currently got 2 amps, both are modeling amps which i believe are not the best to add any pedals to, correct me if I am wrong... one is a little Vox VX11, the other a whopping Fender Mustang GT100 which I bought out of naivety.

Don't want to break the bank as I'm still learning to play....

A no frills 'up step' you could try a Fender Blues Junior III which is a very popular 15W tube amp that usually only costs new about 50% more than your GT100. They are known to take pedals very well.... Bargains could be had on the 2nd hand market...

And almost any VOX AC15 on the market is worth having a look...

But there is nil harm in trying your wonderful new pedal through your modeling amps... the only 'damage' you could do is to the sounds you hear at the time...

Thanks Marcel, was going to get a couple of pedals to try out first as you said via the modeling amps, from what I had read they wouldn't be any good...so I was preparing myself.....

Set your modelling amp dead clean and you will get straight into the ballpark.

I run pedals through a Fender Mustang using the 65 Twin emulation with the default effects removed, at home and small practice levels sounds rather convincing, same pedals through the H||H which is 100W dead clean sounds much the same but is big and far too heavy for everyday use

You'll probably find that some will work great while others will leave you scratching your head in bemusement.