Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Damon's 7 string w/ Floyd Rose tremolo. IB-7t

Damon & Katie's 7 string w/ Floyd Rose tremolo. IB-7

Model: Pitbull IB-7
    7 string
    Floyd Rose Tremolo
    Reminiscent of Paul Gilbert's Ibanez RG (I think that's right) sorta shape - descendant of the Stratocaster shape.
    Given to me for my birthday / Christmas - a day ago...
    Have watched video diaries by three different people building their own Pitbull guitars so far - so I have a fair idea of what will be involved now - generally...
    I work as an aluminium cladding fabricator, so I have a good idea of how to go about marking, drilling and such, but the woodwork beyond the sanding will be new to me i.e. the staining etc.
    Materials to acquire list so far:
    Various grades of sandpaper from around 200 - 1200 for use in that order progressively...
    'Sanding sealer'
    One bloke who made his 'Gallacaster' used a shoe polish in the staining process.
    polyurethane I think it was ... *
    was that copper tape ? to line and encase the pickups into the guitar body for sake of less feedback when plugged in.