Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Sunn O))) inspired distortion

Sunn O))) inspired distortion

In my random pedal-googling I came across this distortion circuit, and thought I'd see if I could build it:

http://www.taydakits.com/instructions/sunn-o-distortion

I'm a bit of a noob, and of course this circuit isn't very well supported (no real instructions, slightly confusing circuit diagram, no schematic, no PCB to purchase). I put the diagram and PCB layout in photoshop so I could see where the connections actually were, and came up with this:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sunn distortion layout.jpg 
Views:	238 
Size:	174.9 KB 
ID:	22485

Anyway, I fiddled around for awhile (I'm embarrassed to say for how long...) and finally got it to work on a breadboard

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sunn o small.jpg 
Views:	220 
Size:	724.6 KB 
ID:	22483

It actually sounds pretty good. Better than the other circuit I breadboarded last week. I didn't have electrolytic caps in most of the values it required, so used ceramic caps instead. I don't know if this makes a difference?

From what I understand a pot between pins 1 and 8 of the first IC gives you control over the gain, right? I might stick one in tomorrow arvo and see what happens, and then I'll try to solder it to some veroboard and box it up.
    #001 (LP-1S) [finished - co-runner up Nov 2018 GOTM]
    #002 (WL-1)
    #003 (MPL Megacaster - semi scratch build) [finished]
    #004 (ST-1 JR - Arachnoid Superhero build) [finished]
    #005 (LP jr)
    #006 (TL-1A)

Junk shop acoustic refurbs (various)
    'The TGS Special'

Half the battle is making it work in the first place... so regardless of the time you spent you are doing well...