Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tips on U-Beaut dye application?

Tips on U-Beaut dye application?

Hey All,

Getting to the point with my GR-1SF build where I will apply the colour. I'm using U-Beaut water-based dye, which I've never used before. The instructions on their website are fairly general, so was wondering if anyone had some tips for me specifically for guitar use, along the lines of:

1. What's the best way to apply it - brush, sponge or rag? (or spray maybe?)
    2. Slip slop slap or be frugal?
    3. Should I apply it warm or cold?
    4. Will it stain the binding? I know some plastics (nylon especially) are easily dyeable... so I guess is the binding used on the kits made from nylon or similar plastic?
    5. When to sand or not? For example, after each coat or 2, 3, 4?

Anything else you can think of.

Cheers,

Pete

Overlord of Music
    I've used Ubeaut stains for a while now. Love them. First thing is they are concentrated, so dilute them at least 1:1 water to stain (I usually end up at about 3:1 and get good coverage and vivid colours).

1. Rag works for me.
    2. Work it in. Not too much in one go. I use a circular motion and try to keep each pass as even as possible.
    3. Cold is fine. Never tried it hot.
    4. Yes. Binding is usually ABS and will easily scrape or steel wool clean.
    5. Sand up to 240 or a bit higher. Go over a few times with a damp rag to raise the grain and fine sand again. Then apply colour, then clear coat. No sanding in between colour and clear coat.

Depending on your mix and what colour you are trying achieve, you should only need one or two coats.
    'As long as there's, you know, sex and drugs, I can do without the rock and roll.'

Overlord of Music