Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Black Strat project (My first build!)

Talking Black Strat project (My first build!)

Hi there!

George from Greece here.
    My custom order of a STA-1M just arrived and i am so happy to start my first build!
    The project is a black strat like Gilmours so the kit came with an alder body and black pickguard and mapple neck and fretboard.
    I will post some photos later of a mock build.
    I have decided to do the finish with rattle cans by myself and i've already found the products i'm going to use.

But as a newbie, i have tons of questions about finishing mostly.

Does alder needs grain filler?
    Is sealing important or it can be skipped?
    And much more questions to come...

Anyway, so glad to start my first build!!

good on you George, they are a great kit and I find that they sound pretty decent even with the stock pickups. Plenty of helpful people on the forum willing to offer advice, enjoy the build and take your time.

Thanks a lot D.K!
    For starters i will keep the stock pickups. And i also think it will be ok.! The only thing i'm gonna do different from gilmours is to install black tuners instead of chrome. I think its going to look prettier with them!!

Hi George and welcome.

Here's my NOS CS DG Strat, so we've obviously got something in common!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DG Strat small.jpg 
Views:	157 
Size:	242.8 KB 
ID:	19135

Alder doesn't need grain filler as it's a closed-pore wood. If you've got any major knocks or dents in the body, then I'd fill those with a water-based wood filler, but otherwise no filling is required.