Page 1 of 15 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: Christodav's TL-1AR first build

Christodav's TL-1AR first build

This is my first build and even after watch what seems like hundreds of articles and YouTube videos, I still feel kinda outta my league, but I have decided to give it a go.

This guitar is for my 16 year old daughter and it is a Christmas present that will be started by me as of now hopefully without her knowing and the goal is to be finished before the end of the school holidays. (A big ask, I know.)
    I received the kit today and all seems good except for a few hairline cracks on the end of the body. Could someone chip in and tell me this will be fine?
    Thanks in advance for your input.

Anyway, on with a few pictures and I'll post further pictures and ask questions as I proceed.

I shaped the headstock first and popped it onto the body to give me some inspiration.
    My plan I think is to start sanding the body and finish the neck with Dingotone. I am going to go with the Grover pegs and I am seriously thinking about upgrading the bridge. It is pretty ambitious, especially for a first build, but my plan is to do a Dingotone sunburst finish.
    I have also purchased an electrosocket jackplate.
    Finally, I would like to do a tummy cut, but I am not that confident in doing it, We'll see.

Chris

3. Liked by: kel1985

Nothing wrong with a bit of ambition. If you've got plenty of Dingotone, I'd do a few practice runs on some scrap timber and get a feel for the burst. Can't really offer much help on the cracking, since I'm very new to this myself. I'd hope that filling and sanding would be enough to hide them - but there are definitely some more experienced heads around that can give you better advice in that area.

In any case, good luck to you. I'm sure your daughter will be stoked with the end result. I reckon the hardest bit is going to be keeping it under wraps until it's done.