Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: TLB-4 becoming world's 1st Drakensteyn Telemaster Bass

Smile TLB-4 becoming world's 1st Drakensteyn Telemaster Bass

Hey guys,

I've been dreaming about this for many years, now with another baby on the way and limited time to play bass in the evening, I decided to buy a kit for the perfect stay-at-home nights.

I wanted a telecaster bass, rare on it's own, but Pitbull had one.

Although this is my first build, and this kit is recommended for advanced builders, with degrees in Electrical Engineering and Microfabrication (MEMS manufacturing) in my pocket I'll just go for it. No gut's no glory and with dedication, patience, persistence and your help, success will be unavoidable

Design: Sonic blue nitro finish, matching headstock, oiled neck.
    Original Fender Cabronita humbucker at the edge of the pickguard, a 4-conductor MM humbucker closer to the bridge and most likely a 51' single coil close to the neck in the standard tele (guitar) position. Exact electrical wiring connections tbd, will prototype and select the best sounds/combinations to hook up to the new 5-way switch. Will add a stacked 2-band active @ tone position. I might replace the pickguard by a custom one, we'll see (3-ply white pearloid material ordered and got access to a professional laser cutter). Custom Decal (Dutch know who lived @ Drakensteyn), old school j-bass bridge cover and straplocks to finish it off.

Got the kit and most parts, still waiting for the '51 SC pickup, vintage style round jack plate, battery compartment, but got all sanding paper, nitro finish (base, color, transparent) from a local dutch supplier.

1st job: the mock-up build....
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Drakensteyn_Telemaster_Bass.jpg 
Views:	266 
Size:	70.7 KB 
ID:	12727   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1st arrival.jpg 
Views:	196 
Size:	404.1 KB 
ID:	12728