Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Final set up

Final set up

G'day all, firstly sorry if this has been covered elsewhere. I've been playing for 40 years but never had to set up so...... I've now finished building my TL-1 and I'm now trying to set it up. I've done the action height but now to intonation. I'm using an Eno ET-68GB tuner set on "Guitar" (it has settings for Chronomatic, Guitar and Bass) and 440mz. I've tuned the 6E string, then checked with harmonic and then had to adjust the intonation and its all set. Now first problem is that I tuned the open 3rd, 2nd and 1st strings but when I tried to find the intonation for the 3, 2 and 1st strings the meter doesn't even register. I tried adjusting both ways but no go. I then tuned to best I could and all open strings sounded fine but as soon as I played a basic chord like E G or D it sounded s*&^house. Even though the E6 string is in tune, it was fine when playing E chord but was way out for a G chord. Obviously I've stuffed something up but what? Any clues or hints will be very much appreciated.

Banned
    Dont use harmonics when setting intonation, you will be out everytime, always fret the 12th

Start with the saddles all the way forward, then gradually bring them back in if needed to adjust intonation
    Last edited by tonyw; 23-02-2016 at 11:34 AM.

Overlord of Music
    ^ Yep, agreed. Also the nut could be too high, which would make the first few frets sharp even when perfectly intonated.
    'As long as there's, you know, sex and drugs, I can do without the rock and roll.'

Hi Pete,
    welcome to the forum.
    As Pablo said I'd say your nut may be too high. Please post some photos of the nut from the side of the neck to show us the string height.
    TL-1 will be harder to intonate with the stock bridge with the dual saddles on 1 adjustment screw but you should be able to get it pretty close
    Current Builds and status
    scratch end grain pine tele - first clear coat on !