Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: my first build (pbg-2)

hello,

this is my first build and it is of the pbg-2 guitar kit.

i bought the kit a while ago but due to me customizing the kit with a t-type head it took a while to get here in the U.K.

when it arrived i was in the middle of doing exams so i couldn't start it and when i eventually started the build i started taking pictures but only just got round to making this build diary.

i seem to have lost the first few pictures i had of the project, but these are the pictures of what i have got.

the inspiration for this guitar comes from many other guitars but mainly from Matt Bellamy's "Manson Ali Top" guitar (i'm a big Muse fan )

i started off my using dowel to plug the holes that were already cut out, it took a lot effort (and glue) but it worked, i then painted the body with wood primer.

after a few more coats of primer i started to drill the new holes for the volume pot (i kept one of them there for the tone)

after sanding and priming and more sanding and priming i drilled the hole for the switch and it was ready for the spray primer

after a few coats of the spray primer and a bit more sanding it was ready for the glitter silver spray paint to go on

about 5 coats later is where we are at at the moment

we did this same process to the headstock of the guitar

the camera on my phone doesn't really do justice the shine of the glitter but at the moment i think it looks goodd

at the moment there isn't much for me do because my dad is out at the moment but i drew around the edge of the guitar so that i could make this template to do the silver burst that we're going to try soon,

that's where i am up to with this build so far,

thanks for reading,

alex

Well done Aex, and welcome to the forum! We are a really friendly bunch here and because we want you to feel welcome we wont mention anything about the Cricket .